How to Plan Your Trip Around the Philippine Holidays for 2024

If you are an expat who is planning to visit, work, or live in the Philippines in 2024, you may want to know the holiday calendar for that year. The Philippines has a lot of holidays, both regular and special, that may affect your travel arrangements, work schedule, and lifestyle. In this blog post, I will give you some helpful information about the Philippine holidays for 2024 and how to make the most of them.

What are the Philippine holidays for 2024?

The Philippine holidays for 2024 are divided into four categories:

  1. regular holidays,
  2. special non-working holidays,
  3. special working holidays,
  4. and common local holidays.

Regular holidays are fixed dates that are usually observed nationwide with pay. Special non-working holidays are also fixed dates that are usually observed nationwide but with a different pay rate. Special working holidays are fixed dates that are usually observed nationwide but with no additional pay. Common local holidays are variable dates that are usually observed in specific regions or provinces, depending on the local government or religious authority.

This is the official holiday list for 2024 in the Republic of the Philippines

  • Regular holidays:

    • New Year’s Day – January 1 (Monday)
    • Maundy Thursday – March 28
    • Good Friday – March 29
    • Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9 (Tuesday)
    • Labor Day – May 1 (Wednesday)
    • Independence Day – June 12 (Wednesday)
    • National Heroes’ Day – August 26 (Monday)
    • Bonifacio Day – November 30 (Saturday)
    • Christmas Day – December 25 (Wednesday)
    • Rizal Day – December 30 (Monday)
  • Special non-working holidays:

    • Chinese New Year – February 10 (Saturday)
    • Black Saturday – March 30
    • Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (Wednesday)
    • All Saints’ Day – November 1 (Friday)
    • Feast of the Immaculate Conception – December 8 (Sunday)
    • Last Day of the Year – December 31 (Tuesday)
  • Special working holidays:

    • First Philippine Republic Day – January 23 (Tuesday)
    • Yamashita Surrender Day – September 3 (Tuesday)
    • Feast of the Nativity of Mary – September 8 (Sunday)
  • Common local holidays:

    • Lailatul Isra Wal Mi Raj – February 7 (Wednesday)
    • Eidul Fitr – April 10 (Wednesday)
    • Eidul Adha – June 17 (Monday)
    • Eidul Adha Day 2 – June 18 (Tuesday)
    • Amun Jadid – July 8 (Monday)
    • Maulid un-Nabi – September 16 (Monday)

Note: The dates of the Islamic holidays are estimates and may change depending on the sighting of the moon. The National Commission on Muslim Filipinos (NCMF) will inform the President’s office of the actual dates and a proclamation will be made

Subscribe to get email updates about current events and special promos in the Philippines

Promo: Get one free transfer with Transferwise

I respect your privacy and will never spam
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments